Stephanie Perkins’ Book Signing Event: Such a great experience!

photo 3-2
photo 2-1
photo 2-3
National Bookstore, together with Powerbooks, has been hosting a lot of book signing events of amazing authors. Just last June 21, Jenny Han came to the Philippines for a book signing held in Manila and Cebu. Then the American author of Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door, Stephanie Perkins,visited Cebu yesterday (July 5)! And here I am, writing my experience right after I left her book signing here in Manila!

So let me share my epic experience! Since I’m an incoming college student and my first day starts tomorrow, I really wanted to make this book signing event extra special for myself. All thanks to my dad, we asked some friends to fall in line last night at around 10pm even if the registration for the book signing event wouldn’t even start in 12 hours. The reason? My best friend, Kiana, and I really wanted to get the Advance Reader’s Copy of Isla and the Happily Ever After, which is not for sale until August 14; and the only way to get that is to be the first in line. Unfortunately, when we arrived at National Bookstore at 10pm to help our friends settle down, nine freaking bookworms were already there! Obviously, we wouldn’t be able to get an ARC anymore… and believe me when I say I felt my heart break. The first person to arrive had set foot in National Bookstore at 1pm, unbelievable! Despite being devastated, Kiana and I bonded with them for a while and we really had a great time with them. At around 10:30 though, we head back to the hotel we were checked in for the freaking book signing, yes, we were crazy enough to book a hotel besides the Glorietta Mall (all thanks to my dad by the way). Then when it was thirty minutes before midnight, we couldn’t help the strong urge to go back to National Bookstore and bond with the fellow crazy readers. So we did, and we were having a really good time by just getting to know each other and talking about books. When all of a sudden, something amazing happened…

photo 2photo 1 We were there outside the mall, sitting down on the side of the street like crazies when this really gorgeous and sexy lady came walking towards us with her husband beside her…

Yes! It was Stephanie Perkins!!!

photo 3 photo 5             photo 1-4We all stood up in excitement even though we couldn’t believe our eyes! She surprised us by visiting us in the middle of the night because she saw all of our tweets to her about us already lined up for her event! Stephanie was really amazing guys. There we were, eleven plus two of our friends lining up for us, shrieking and jumping and telling her how much we love her as we overwhelm her with our hugs. Stephanie and her husband, Jarrod, took loads of selfies and group pictures with us. They even signed anything we wanted them to sign except for the books of course. And since I don’t have anything with me except my phone, I took out my The Fault In Our Stars slash Ansel Elgort casing and made her sign the interior part! She was amazing guys, Stephanie and Jarrod probably stayed with us for twenty minutes or probably more. I can’t put into words the rush of exhilarating bliss we were all feeling and by the time it was time for them to leave, we were left there jumping and shrieking and hugging each other. It was a wonderful moment that I could never ever forget. Only Stephanie Perkins has done something like that to her Filipino fans and I couldn’t thank her enough for being so kind and wonderful. And at that moment, ARC was left forgotten for a while because seriously, who gets to experience being surprised by the author?! Thank goodness Kiana and I had that strong urge to go out of the hotel and join the ones lined up outside National Bookstore for a while! Eventually, Kiana and I went back to our hotel rooms. We went back to National Bookstore the next morning at around 9am. And wow! The line was so, so long already by then! I was dumfounded!

photo 4

We got our books registered on time; we proceeded on settling on our seats and yes, took tons of pictures together. I was having a pretty good time meeting new people who I share interest with.

photo 3-1

The next amazing part of this book signing event has no relation with Stephanie Perkins but I really needed to share it with you guys. Anyway, I always write a letter for the author while waiting for the event to beging… I had to go to the second floor of National Bookstore to buy a card; since the line was really long, it went all the way up to that floor! I was on the cashier when this girl suddenly called me, as far as I could remember; this was how our conversation went:
Girl: Feather Casilan?
(I gave her a confused look because I didn’t know her)
Girl: I’m Charmyan Galo, I’m a fan of your blog.
Me: Really? Oh… Omg… Th-thank you so much!
Girl: I’m a friend of— (I have no idea what she said next, and I smiled uncontrollably)
Me: Thank you, thank you so much!
(The line started to move and I have to turn my attention back to the cashier…)
Okay so I know that’s not really much for some of you but it was such a big deal for me because she was the first ever to approach me because of my book blog, and I only started last June 23. So a shout out to Charmyan… You added up to my awesome day, thank you!    
So going back to the event… Like I said, I met a lot of great new people but the “First 11” are the ones that I won’t forget because they were the ones I were able to really bond with! So, guys, I hope I’ll get to meet you again! I love you tons!
photo 4-2
When Stephanie and Jarrod arrive at National Bookstore, the crowd went seriously wild! Stephanie was just so touched with all of the signs, the ones who put so much effort by wearing costumes, and with just the mere presence of everyone. I’m telling you, the place was such a beautiful sight! Stephanie went on telling how Anna, Lola and Isla somehow reflected her and how everything beautiful about St. Clair, Cricket and Joshua are found in her husband! But when asked on whom among those three guys really represents Jarrod, her answer was Cricket Bell from Lola and the Boy Next Door. Plus, Stephanie Perkins loves our mangoes so much that she says it’s like tasting heaven itself!!! She’s so adorable! She loves Philippines so much that she said she’d do her best to make her author friends come and visit us! I’m crossing my fingers on that!
photo 1-3 photo 2-2 photo 5-3
So the painful part was when National Bookstore gave the Advance Reader’s Copy of Isla and the Happily Ever After to the first seven who arrived! And I’m number 10… Ugh… Oh anyhow, even I’m devastated over that, I’m happy for my new friends for being able to snag an ARC! Plus, nothing can compare to the epic experience I’ve had.
photo 4-1
The time for the book signing itself eventually arrived and Stephanie Perkins was adorable as ever. We had a great chat and she was so so so so sweet guys! Meeting her was so amaze-balls and I wish all the best for her and her cute hubby who also signed some books and took loads of selfies with the fans!   So yeah… It’s pretty obvious how happy I am. Thanks to my dad, Kiana, and all of my newfound friends for giving me the best book signing experience so far. I love you all!
photo 1-2
Oh and for those who were asking me… This is only the fourth book signing I have attended. Here are the authors I’ve met, in order:
  1. Becca Fitzpatrick: March 29, 2014.
  2. Tahereh Mafi, Ransom Riggs & Veronica Rossi: April 26, 2014.
  3. Jenny Han: June 21, 2014.
  4. Stephanie Perkins: July 6, 2014.

 

Here are the other photos I’ve got from Stephanie Perkins’ book signing event:

photo 2-4 photo 1-5 photo 5-2
photo 5-4
photo 1-6 photo 2-5
Were you at the event? Or do you simply love Stephanie Perkins and her books? Then please comment below, it would mean a lot! Thanks guys!

Leave a comment